Call 1-800-273-TALK (8255) for immediate help.


I_need_help   what_can_I_do   I_want_to_learn_more

About Community for Hope

Mission Statement

We are community members united for the purpose of promoting and supporting mental wellness and building awareness about suicide prevention, intervention and response, as well as grief support for surviving family members and friends.

Community for Hope Meetings (2014)

Jan 9 Mar 13 May 13 July 8 Sept 9 Nov 11 (6:30-8:00pm)
Feb 13  Apr 10  June 10  Aug 12  Oct 14 Dec 9

Community for Hope holds a monthly general board meeting open to the public and our community partners, from 8:00-9:00 am, on the second Tuesday of every month, in the main-level conference room at our office: Hooper Community Center, 36 Broad Street, Oshkosh. (No daytime meeting in November. Open House, 6:30-8:00pm, is in place of the monthly meeting.)

Anyone interested in working on suicide prevention initiatives in our community is welcome to join us.



Sponsoring YELLOW RIBBON, a program that teaches students that "it's okay to ask for help" and trains teachers, administrators, counselors, and support staff how to respond to children in crisis.

Supporting the state DPI's Signs of Suicide prevention and intervention ACT (Acknowledge, Care, Tell) program for students, teachers, and staff.

Creating and providing age appropriate school folders for students in grades 1 - 12 to help them understand the warning signs of suicide and to know what to do in order to seek help.

Supporting and providing speakers for businesses, civic organizations, clubs, and churches to raise suicide awareness.

Providing community-based suicide prevention training using the nationally known method, QPR (Question, Persuade, Refer).

If you're interested in getting trained in QPR, contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 920-230-4840.


Collaborating with school administrators, teachers, counselors and social workers to support suicide prevention, intervention and response efforts in the school system.


Sponsoring and facilitating a S.O.S. (Survivors of Suicide), which is a grief support group of and for family, friends, classmates and colleagues of those who have died by suicide.  A Teen S.O.S. Group also meets when needed.


Over 35 community members, including school administrators, therapists, religious leaders and concerned parents, are currently active in Community for Hope.

Board Members:

President: Vacant

Vice President: Kim Lewis

Treasurer: Patti Ahrens

Secretary: Sue Szabo

Other Board Members: Don Merz, Teresa Paulus, Barry Busby

Non-Profit Status

Community for Hope is an IRS-recognized 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. All contributions are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law.